Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
lewisn@jibstyle.com  
#1 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2020 10:30:38 PM(UTC)
lewisn@jibstyle.com

Rank: Newbie

Groups: BetaUser, Registered
Joined: 7/29/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3

I just downloaded the .exe and installed then opened and all i get is a blank screen. I restarted my computer and no change.
[img]https://1drv.ms/u/s!AiN4S5Unr1r6hasODvbjT4wCbgU31w?e=QUaRTH[/img]


[img=https://1drv.ms/u/s!AiN4S5Unr1r6hasP5Q8_v7sQrq29DQ?e=yfnCVg][/img]
EmbrioAdmin  
#2 Posted : Saturday, January 25, 2020 8:10:48 AM(UTC)
EmbrioAdmin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 12/11/2014(UTC)
Posts: 653

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 36 time(s) in 33 post(s)
All internal errors and messages get logged to /documents/embrio/log.txt. Can you post the contents of yours?
Wirewrap  
#3 Posted : Saturday, February 08, 2020 6:26:41 AM(UTC)
Wirewrap

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/8/2020(UTC)
Posts: 2

Hello
I too, as lewisn@jibstyle.com, have successfully installed Embrio on Win 7, but when I launch the program I get only a white screen!

This is the log file.

Log created at 08-02-2020 16:22:19
16:22:19 Information You are using the free version of Embrio. Without a license you can work in connected mode as much as you want but you are limited with how many final programs you can upload. If you find Embrio useful please support it by getting a license at www.embrio.io
16:22:20 Debug Available ports changed
16:22:20 Debug Upgrader cleared saved layout.
16:22:22 Debug You have the newest version installed.
16:22:22 Information The library is up to date.
EmbrioAdmin  
#4 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2020 12:05:00 PM(UTC)
EmbrioAdmin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 12/11/2014(UTC)
Posts: 653

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 36 time(s) in 33 post(s)
I'm doing some experiments on a Windows 7 VM but running into some blocks.

Embrio runs in a web browser in the main program window. On Windows, the web browser control uses whatever version of Internet Explorer you have installed. On windows 10, it's using Edge. I tried installing Edge on my Windows 7 vm, but the web browser control is still using Internet Explorer.

I did some experiments and found that jQuery isn't working. I did some googling and it looks like the current version of jQuery is only compatible with version 9+ of Internet Explorer, but my VM only has version 8. I'm trying to upgrade my version of Internet Explorer but keep running into problems.

Can you confirm what version of Internet Explorer you are using? I suspect you're on version 8? If you can figure out a way to upgrade it I'd be curious to know if that gets Embrio to work.

There may be another way to get this to work. I used a cross platform library to get Embrio to work on Linux and Mac. Back when I did this, I was using a lot more form controls in the UI. Eventually it got to the way it is now where everything in the UI is running in a single web-browser control. So now the cross platform library isn't really necessary and keeps giving me problems on Linux and Mac. I'm currently working on removing the use of this library and just using straight c# / Mono. To do this, I need to get a web-browser control working on Linux and Mac. I might end up using a different control like Chromium. If I do that, I can try using that on the Windows version as well, and maybe that will work on Windows 7.

In the mean time, upgrading to Internet Explorer 9+ might work, I just haven't been able to do that yet on my VM.
Wirewrap  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2020 12:00:03 AM(UTC)
Wirewrap

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/8/2020(UTC)
Posts: 2

Hello
I downloaded and updated windows 7 with all existing updates, including optional ones, and the program now works correctly.BigGrin
I already had explorer 11 installed but it didn't work before.
Thanks for the information that in any case have been very useful, in another pc where embrio was not working I had tried to install Edge for windows 7 and the software works correctly.BigGrin
Ciao!!
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error