Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
EmbrioAdmin  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 11, 2015 6:12:14 PM(UTC)
EmbrioAdmin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 12/11/2014(UTC)
Posts: 639

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 36 time(s) in 33 post(s)
For discussion and questions about the Interface And Components - Profiler documentation page, found at http://www.embrio.io/documentation/interface-and-components/profiler
scott@scottelford.biz  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 23, 2019 4:11:07 PM(UTC)
scott@scottelford.biz

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 5/31/2017(UTC)
Posts: 67
Australia

Thanks: 1 times
How do I go about finding out what is causing the time budget to be above 1000 milliseconds?

I could not find any information on what to look for and what to change to reduce this down to a good level.

As the project grow this will add to the time required to run through the code, so if I was to leave all of the refresh rates at 32, this would start to cause a timing problem?

Yes this is causing a problem, I don't need the refresh rate to be so fast. Dropping it down on most of them has improved it a bit.

Edited by user Wednesday, January 23, 2019 4:40:27 PM(UTC)  | Reason: More info added

EmbrioAdmin  
#3 Posted : Saturday, January 26, 2019 8:04:29 AM(UTC)
EmbrioAdmin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 12/11/2014(UTC)
Posts: 639

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 36 time(s) in 33 post(s)
You should be able to see timing for each node definition so you can see which is taking the most time. If you have run a timing program and have timing for all nodes, the graphical timeline should be a good resource, just click on the larger rectangles and see what nodes they are. The built in nodes are all pretty fast, but some custom nodes might have long execution times. Make sure none of your nodes use a delay() call. Like you said, if you have some nodes that take a long time to execute (for example I know the LCD node takes a while), then make sure the agent's that contain those nodes have a low refresh rate.

Also keep in mind that if your budget is over 1000 milliseconds it might not have negative effects on your project, depending on what's going on in your project. It would just mean that the agents don't execute at the set refresh rate. Updating say 25 times per second instead of 32 might not have any noticeable effects on your project, but it depends on what is going on in your project.
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error