Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Bgoeswild  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 13, 2018 7:06:01 AM(UTC)
Bgoeswild

Rank: Newbie

Groups: BetaUser, Registered
Joined: 8/2/2016(UTC)
Posts: 2

I am having sporadic trouble connecting an Arduino to Embrio. I get the message: "Error uploading to Arduino: Arduino upload timed out. Are you sure you have the correct Arduino model selected?"

The only way out of this was to unplug the power and plug in again. Sometimes it connects, sometimes not, but always extremely slow. This can happen on an empty project.
EmbrioAdmin  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 13, 2018 7:51:18 AM(UTC)
EmbrioAdmin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 12/11/2014(UTC)
Posts: 623

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 36 time(s) in 33 post(s)
The error message sounds like you need to follow these steps. Basically you need to upload a program from the Arduino IDE, like blink, then close Arduino. Embrio will use the same upload settings as you last used through Arduino. Also be sure to select the correct port in Embrio so it knows where to listen for a connection program.

Sometimes I've also had the hardware error where the serial port is locked and I have to unplug and plug back in the Arduino. I wasn't able to find anything in the connection code that would account for it. Perhaps if more than 1 upload from the command line happens at the same time, like one starts while another is still going, might cause it to get locked somehow.

The slow upload is an issue that I need to look at again. Basically when you do the upload a new folder is created with the generated Arduino code and the needed include files. Then the Arduino IDE is called from the command line to upload. Most of the time seems to be the Arduino IDE opening and configuring. Last time I checked there didn't seem to be a good way to deal with this from the command line. Maybe I can open one instance of the Arduino IDE and use that to upload each time, or maybe there is another cleaner way to upload from command line. I'll investigate more. When I work on an Embrio project I usually do all of the hardware level stuff first, upload a connection program, then do the logic and all of that which usually doesn't require another upload.

If you still have connection troubles after doing an upload from the Arduino IDE and closing it like in the above linked page let me know.
Bgoeswild  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 13, 2018 8:37:08 AM(UTC)
Bgoeswild

Rank: Newbie

Groups: BetaUser, Registered
Joined: 8/2/2016(UTC)
Posts: 2

Thanks. I found the problem. The "Upload to last board set in Arduino IDE" check button was not ticked in the Application Options. As a result, Embrio was using an Uno BT not standard Uno board. Not sure how it decided to use the BT option as I did not select it at any stage.

Good tip on the hardware config before logic, thanks.
EmbrioAdmin  
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 15, 2018 7:01:25 PM(UTC)
EmbrioAdmin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators
Joined: 12/11/2014(UTC)
Posts: 623

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 36 time(s) in 33 post(s)
Good catch. I will add to my todo list to log a note when you upload when that option isn't selected. Long ago the default behavior was to put together a command string with the Arduino model selected, but there were some inconsistencies with the Arduino IDE and the naming conventions, so the "use last settings" thing ended up working much better. The Uno BT is just the first Arduino in the list. That list is actually not really used any more, only to group node timing, soon I will remove the list of Arduino models to avoid more confusion.
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error